Search by region

Search Region Search - Go icon

Spokane Symphony Classics 10: The Heart of Russia

Eckart Preu, conductor — Natasha Paremski, piano

Rachmaninoff was a teenager when he composed his unabashedly romantic Piano Concerto No. 1, filled with lyrical melodies and rich orchestration. The mood of Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1 is a shimmering celebration of winter, belying the anguish he suffered during this time. He incorporates elements of Russian folk music along with what makes his later symphonies famous: atmosphere beauty, breathtaking melodies, and virtuosic brilliance. The concert opens with Glinka’s fiery Kamarinskaya, the first orchestral work based entirely on Russian folk music. 

view more details





Sat 5/12/18 8:00 PM

Classics 10 - Saturday

Sun 5/13/18 3:00 PM

Classics 10 - Sunday

Tickets for this event are no longer available online. Please see the venue box office or your local TicketsWest outlet. xclose